Our Leadership

Our YMCA of Metropolitan Los Angeles Board of Directors provide vital support for the Y's work to create lasting personal and social change:


Mark Helm
Chairman of the Board

Cristina Rose
Immediate Past Chairman

W.J. Ellison
Past Chairman

Robert J. Lowe
Past Chairman

Bryan Palbaum
Treasurer & Vice Chairman

John W. Alden, Jr.

Andrew E. Crowell
Vice Chairman

Todd M. Katz
Vice Chairman

Dana Kravetz
Vice Chairman

Melvin Lindsey
Vice Chairman

John Llewellyn
Vice Chairman

Patrick Monroe
Vice Chairman

Richard G. Newman
Vice Chairman

Patrick Niemann
Vice Chairman

John Power
Vice Chairman

Les Ybarra
Vice Chairman

Alan C. Hostrup
President & CEO

Director Emeritus

James A. Collins
Chairman Emeritus
Worldwide Restaurant Concepts, Inc.

Stuart M. Ketchum
Stuart M. Ketchum Real Estate Investments

Avedick B. Poladian
Stephen F. Hinchliffe, Jr.
The Leisure Group, Inc.


Robert J. Abernethy
American Standard Development Company

John W. Alden, Jr.
Senior Corporate Counsel
Honda North America, Inc.

Linda Alvarez

Bill Applegate
The Applegate Company

Emily Ludmir Aviad
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP

Bonnie Barnes

Kelly Cheeseman
Chief Operating Officer
L.A. Kings / AEG Sports

Whitley C. Collins
Global President
Advisory and Transaction Services / Occupier


Andrew E. Crowell
Vice Chairman, Individual Investor Group
D.A. Davidson & Co.

Dana Debel
Managing Director, Government Affairs
Delta Air Lines

Nehal A. Desai
Chief Financial Officer
Reyes Coca-Cola Bottling LLC

R. Todd Doney
Vice Chairman

W. J. Ellison
Ellison Machinery

Earl E. Gales, Jr.
Jenkins/Gales & Martinez, Inc.

Anton C. Garnier

Jose A. Gomez, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Cal State LA

Wendy Greuel
L.A. Homeless Services Authority

Dan Guerrero
Director of Athletics

Mark B. Helm
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP

Craig Hirson
Senior Vice President
Regional Manager

Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Bank of America, N.A.

Alan C. Hostrup
President & CEO
YMCA of Metropolitan Los Angeles

Antonia Jiménez
Acting Director
Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services

Todd M. Katz
Century Park Partners, LLC

Dana A. Kravetz
Firm Managing Partner
Michelman & Robinson, LLP

Alan Kreditor
Senior Vice President Emeritus and Professor Emeritus
University of Southern California

Tony Lee
Dickerson Employee Benefits Insurance Services

Melvin D. Lindsey
Managing Partner & CEO
Nile Capital Group LLC

John F. Llewellyn
Chairman of the Board
Forest Lawn Memorial Park Association

Robert J. Lowe
Lowe Enterprises, Inc.

Glenville A. March, M.D.

Jerry Marcil
Palos Verdes Investments, Inc.

Jim McDonnell

Stephen C. Meier
Pfaffinger Foundation

Greg Meyer
Captain (Retired)
Los Angeles Police Department

Patrick Monroe
President & CEO
Rose Hills Memorial Park and Mortuaries

Michel Moore
Chief of Police
Los Angeles Police Department

Judith Anderson Munzig
Vice President
Topa Equities, Ltd.

Teryl Murabayashi
Managing Director and Deputy General Counsel
MUFG Union Bank, N.A.

Richard G. Newman

Patrick J. Niemann
Office Managing Partner Greater Los Angeles
Ernst & Young LLP

Steve Nissen
Senior Vice President Legal & Government Affairs
NBC Universal

Fabian Núñez
Partner of Mercury and Former California Assembly Speaker

Bryan Palbaum
President and Chief Operations Officer
Trader Joe’s Company

William M. Petmecky
Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Southern California Edison

Chester (Chet) Pipkin
Belkin International, Inc.

Anthony Potts
First International Films

John B. Power
Partner (Retired)
O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Cristina Rose
President & CEO
Rose Policy Solutions

John H. Sanders
Supervising Deputy Attorney General (Retired)
California State Department of Justice

John H. Semcken, III
Senior Vice President
Majestic Realty Co.

Hugo Sibrian
CEO, President
Benefits & Risk Solutions, Inc.

Steve Silk
Senior Managing Director
Eastdil Secured

Keith Terasaki, M.D.

Brian Ulf
President & CEO
StrongHouse Realty Advisors

Joseph Valdes
Executive Vice President
Parking Company of America, LLC

Chris Wallace
Chief Communications Officer
LA Clippers

Cedric Williams
Vice President of Construction
SoCalGas and San Diego Gas and Electric

Les Ybarra
Executive Director
Southern California Regional Health Plan – Medicaid Anthem Blue Cross